Defeat is only Temporary

LEAD Technologies Inc. V1.01How do you start? It’s the proverbial ‘knife in the back’. What are you supposed to say? How should I react? The thoughts  creeping into the furthest recesses of my mind, never ceasing to gnaw at my subconscious, telling me ‘maybe it’s true’, ‘maybe what’s being said is the reality’….
Those thoughts come unexpectedly. Usually they make their presence known after some sort of drama, altercation, or unpleasant interaction, of which the outcome was less than desirable. A combination of letters, assembled in a specific order to form words that have meaning and when arranged in a certain pattern, have the ability to build up or knock down, uplift or depress, or maybe approve or revoke certain rights and privileges.

We have all been guilty of making statements in the midst of a conflict that were less than pleasant. If we would be completely honest with ourselves, and each other, we have purposely cobbled together words or phrases that were intended to inflict some level of discomfort on another individual. Why do we do this to each other? Why do humans purposely retaliate in one way or another? We may do it out of a survival mentality when we see no other way to defend ourselves or those we care most deeply towards.

I have been thinking recently about what has been said, what has been repeated and reported about me personally. It is not a pleasant feeling or place to be in, by no stretch of the imagination. We all want to be accepted by others. We all desire to be seen as a caring, trustworthy individual. But, how do you defend yourself from blatantly false statements when you have no voice and no recourse? I purport that doing what is right, what is good, what is ethical, may not always be the most prudent road to traverse. Pain, heartache, false accusations, lies, and verbal attacks are fairly common. But, doing the right things for the right reasons should bring about the correct results, eventually.

Maybe I am the only one who feels this way, but well meaning people often make ill advised statements such as, “Put it in God’s hands”, “I’ll pray for you”, “Pray about it”….because they don’t know how to respond, or worse they don’t want to get ‘dirty’ by stepping into a situation that doesn’t directly involve them. When I hear statements like this, I sometimes want to scream…… “REALLY? That’s all you have to say? That almost seems like a cop-out, a way to appease yourself and make you feel better about yourself, without actually having to get personally involved”.Now, don’t misunderstand what I’m saying here… There are times when “I’ll pray for you”, is the only response they can give, and I’ll never turn away someone offering to pray for my situation. What I’m addressing specifically here, is those individuals, who really could do more, who could step up and actually make a difference, yet refuse to ‘get involved’ because it would actually cost them time, money, appearance, or something else they aren’t willing to sacrifice, should it be seen by others in a different light.

I am not without faults. I am a walking, talking, bumbling cornucopia of bad choices, wrong decisions, and misplaced loyalties. But, I will battle till there’s nothing left in me to defend and protect what I hold closest and dearest. They can say whatever they want, fabricate stories to appease their own delusional self image, or try to shift the blame and focus onto me and away from their own twisted life, but it will not deter me from who I am and what I believe to be morally and ethically right. Even if I know I’m not always going to come out on the right side of things, that knowledge doesn’t give me an excuse not to try.

The ‘morality of compromise’ sounds contradictory. Compromise is usually a sign of weakness, or an admission of defeat. Strong men don’t compromise, it is said, and principles should never be compromised. ~ Andrew Carnegie    

 

 

About Markus
Self confessed MisFit trying to get through life. Christ Follower,Father,Papaw,Musician. A realist who is enjoying becoming lost in the right direction

Share your thought's

